Why Is the Bat a Lucky Symbol in China?

 

Did you know that the bat has traditionally been a lucky anima in China? The word for “bat” and “good fortune” are pronounced the same (“fu”). Due to their inherent auspiciousness, bats  were often incorporated in tapestries, clothing, dishes, sculptures, paintings and even the imperial throne.

Similarly, it was common practice to have a “Five Bat symbol” in literature and art, because it symbolized the five earthly elements (air, earth, fire, metal, fire) and the five types of happiness (good luck, health, a long life, tranquility and wealth). It was also popular practice for  individuals to gaze at bats at nighttime while enjoying their evening tea with friends, and for children to chase bats around, trying to catch them.

 

For more information about the bat’s role in Chinese culture, check out the following sites:

Bat Conservation International: http://www.batcon.org/index.php/media-and-info/bats-archives.html?task=viewArticle&magArticleID=536

The Chinese Bat: http://www.ontis.nl/articles/speleo-articles/1/Chinese%2520Bat.pdf

8 thoughts on “Why Is the Bat a Lucky Symbol in China?

  1. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you
    hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. many thanks

  2. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was entirely right.
    This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  3. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d certainly donate to this fantastic blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.

    Chat soon!

  4. I have learn several excellent stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how much effort you set to make the sort of excellent informative web site.

  5. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long
    comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all
    that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say great blog!

Leave a Reply

